Learning to Talk

Past few weeks have been very educational. I could focus on the pain of the decisions that I am being forced to make, but instead, I feel blessed.

As hurt as I am, as lonely as my days are, I feel I am getting the opportunity to learn something, every day. And sweetheart, any day spent learning is a well lived day.

Today I came across this Ted Talk about Conversation Skills, and it was amazing.

 

Here is what I learnt…

1. Don’t multitask
2. Don’t pontificate
3. Use open ended questions
4. Go with the flow
5. If you don’t know, say that you don’t know
6. Don’t equate your experience with theirs
7. Don’t repeat yourself
8. Don’t go into the details (names, number, dates…)
9. Listen
10. Be brief

Sweetheart, If there is one life skill you want to have under your belt for success, then this is it. Learning to communicate. I hope you enjoy it as much as I did.

Leave a Reply

